Governor Rotich unveils CEC nominees

Elgeyo Marakwet governor Wisley Rotich has unveiled a list of 10 County Executive Committee members which he presented to the assembly for vetting and approval.

The governor called on the assembly which started business yesterday after the official opening to fast-track the vetting of the CECs saying he relied on them to drive his development agenda for the county.

Governor Rotich said that once approved, the CECs who are supposed to serve for five years will be put on a two-year performance contract which will be renewed based on their performance.

“Our new CECs will be put on performance contract and sign a two-year contract to be renewed based purely on performance,” the governor said.

In the list, Edwin Seroney who was a chief officer in the last government was nominated as CEC agriculture, livestock and irrigation while Monica Rotich who was a CEC in the first term of the former governor is the nominee for public service, devolution and ICT.

Others were Alphaeus Tanui (finance and economic planning), Edwin Kibor (education and technical training), Michael Kibiwott (Health), Jason Lagat ( water, environment and climate change), Thomas Maiyo (lands, physical planning) and Robert Kangogo (cooperatives, trade and tourism).

Mrs. Emmy Kosgey is the new nominee for Roads, public works and transport while Mrs. Purity Koima was nominated to the department of sports, youth affairs and social services.

Three women were nominated as CECs.