KU and JKUAT suspended from admitting students in Tz

Kenyatta University(Arusha) and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology(Arusha) among 19 varsities banned from admitting students by the Tanzania Commission for universities on Monday.

75 other courses from various institutions were also de-listed for reasons ranging from not meeting academic requirements to failure to enforce higher learning regulations. The Commission further explained that continuing students will not be affected.

Acting admin officer at Jomo Kenyatta University Arusha, Mr Elias kizota, said the university was unaware of the announcement adding that the senior officials have engaged TCU in dialogue to resolve the controversy.


As I’m speaking my bosses are meeting TCU officers in Dar-es-salaam, on similar issues. We are surprised by the commission’s decision to release the list.


The move has come in at a time when the universities were working on the 2017/18 intakes. As such, most of them rushed to appeal the decision with some feeling that the commission had rushed into issuing the same and others accusing it of using out-dated information. TSC reiterated by saying that the universities had been audited in October 2016, after which they were to rectify their shortcomings.


Hopefully, the university will have something to comment after the management have concluded discussing with TCU, Elias said.

The two universities will now have to comply with the standards before being allowed to start admitting students again.