Parliament resumes after three month recess

By Annarita Macharia
All eyes are now on the National Assembly as it resumes it sittings today after a three months recess. Top on the agenda today is the rubber stamping of Uhuru Kenyatta’s nine cabinet nominees that faced the Parliamentary Appointment Committee led by Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi.
The Muturi led committee will table a report that will determine who is fit to serve and who is not.
However, NASA leaders have vowed to boycott the sittings claiming that they will not take part in any parliament activity under the Jubilee administration.
The cabinet nominees include John Munyes (Petroleum and Mining), Keriako Tobiko (Environment and Forestry), Peter Munya (East African Community and the Northern Corridor Development), Monica Juma (Foreign Affairs and International Trade), Ukur Yattani (Labour and Social Services), Margaret Kobia (Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs), Farida Karoney (Lands and Housing) Simon Chelugui (Water and Sanitation) and Rashid Achesa (Sports and Heritage).