Safari 7s Return: Africa’s Premier Rugby Tournament Set for November 9th

By Peter Mwaura

The 22nd edition of the Safari sevens rugby tournament will be played at the R.F.U.E.A Grounds from 9th to 11th November 2018.

The 7s Tournament Makes a Comeback After Missing Out In 2017

The Tournament Return this Year after missing out in 2017 to pave way for the general elections. The tournament will also make a comeback to its traditional venue the R.F.U.E.A grounds after being played for seven years at the Kasarani and Nyayo stadium.

“The Safari Sevens returns to its spiritual home after an eight year hiatus that saw the tournament played at the Nyayo and Kasarani Stadiums in the intervening years from 2011 to 2016. Last year’s event couldn’t take off due to the prevailing political climate in the country. The return of the tournament to the RFUEA Ground is one that is bound to trigger nostalgia, an electric atmosphere both on and off the pitch, something to look forward to.” Sylvia Kamau, the Kenya Rugby Union’s acting CEO

Namibia, Wales, Ireland, Spain, Western Province, Portugal and Uganda are some of the national teams and selected clubs who have been invited to grace this year’s tournament..

Kenya 7s are the Safari 7s defending champions courtesy of their win in 2016 where they beat Samurai 38-21 at the Kasarani Stadium.

Safari Sevens Roll of Honor

1996 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
1997 Kenya
1998 Bristol University (England)
1999 Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
2000 Shujaa
2001 British Army (U.K)
2002 British Army (U.K)
2003 Kenya
2004 Kenya
2005 Samoa
2006 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2007 Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2008 Kenya
2009 Kenya
2010 Kenya
2011 Samoa
2012 South Africa Elite Player Development
2013 Shujaa
2014 Welsh Warriors (Wales)
2015 Samurai
2016 Shujaa
2017 Not played


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *