Uhuru and Raila risk a tough time at the elections as 4,000 opt to vie independently

The President and Opposition leader risk a tough time at the elections after losing more than 50 long time allies who are now among about 4,000 independent candidates.

Most of those who lost at the primaries have decided to vie alone, after defecting from their parties or deciding to continue supporting President Uhuru Kenyatta and NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga.

Senior politicians who were trounced in nominations include Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua (Jubilee), Kirinyaga’s Joseph Ndathi (Jubilee), Funyula MP Paul Otuoma (ODM) and Murang’a Senator Kembi Gitura (Jubilee).

Others were Kiambu Governor William Kabogo (Jubilee), Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau (Jubilee), Mukurweini MP Kabando wa Kabando (Jubilee) Nyeri Town MP Esther Murugi (Jubilee) and Starehe MP Maina Kamanda (Jubilee).

Other Jubilee legislators who were ousted were James Bett (Kesses), Peter Gitau (Mwea), Stephen Ngare (Ndia), Njogu Barua (Gichugu), Joseph Gitari, (Kirinyaga Central), Mburu Kahangara (Lari), Njoroge Baiya (Githunguri) and Esther Gathogo (Ruiru).

Nominated MP Isaac Mwaura, who defected from ODM, lost the primaries for Ruiru MP while Uhuru’s cousin Anne Nyokabi lost the nominations for Kiambu woman representative.

Big losers in ODM included Jakoyo Midiwo (Gem), Oburu Odinga (Nominated), George Oner (Rangwe), Augustino Neto (Ndhiwa) and Willy Mtengo (Malindi)

On Sunday, ODM’s MIgori county chairman Philip Makabong’o warned the party led by Raila will pay the price for shambolic nominations that have left supporters divided.

Makabong’o noted independent candidates stand the chance of getting elected.

“The contest was hot. Staunch members felt aggrieved and left to seek independent candidature,” he said.

“In Migori, we will never work with the six-piece pattern as we risk losing presidential votes. We will work closely with independent candidates who support our presidential agenda.”

The IEBC has allowed independent political aspirants until 5pm Monday to submit their forms and symbols to the Registrar of Political Parties. By today morning, 3,880 had been cleared.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *